In the presence of Vice Chancellor, Deputy Vice Chancellor- (ARE), Ag. Registrar (AA), Dean of Students and Dean School of Humanities and Social Sciences; the newly elected Technical University of Mombasa Students Association (TUMSA) officials were sworn in to office at a grand ceremony head at the Mazuri restaurant TUMEL.
The exercise was officiated by Dr. Hamisi Mwadzogo, an advocate of the Kenyan Court and a lecturer at TUM.

This event comes after peaceful campaigns and elections held on 5th November, 2021 at the TUM main campus, situated at Tudor creek. The team led by the (elected) in-coming chairman, Mr. Nicholas Nzyuko Mutinda from the School of Engineering took the leadership mantle from the outgoing chairman Mr. Jacklinus Otiato. The in-coming Chairperson of TUMSA is expected to be in office for the period 2021 – 2022 academic year.


The calls for dialogue and law-abiding leadership style dominated the event. Both the Registrar academic Affair, Ms. Welime and the DVC-ARE- Prof. Gichangi, emphasized on following university’s rules and regulations as stipulated in the academic policy and the student hand book.

The DVC further explained the importance of resuming classes on the official opening date and registering units before time elapses at the beginning of every semester which the opposite has contributed to the missing marks menace.

In her speech, the Vice Chancellor Prof. Laila Abubakar, congratulated the team for winning the election saying that they are heavenly chosen citing leadership comes from God. “This is an opportunity given to you by God and whatever you do with it you will be judged accordingly for with leadership comes a great responsibility. She spoke.

You should all be aware that the DCI and other security agencies keep track of all those found in the wrong side of the law which will eventually catch up with them as they search for employment opportunities. I urge you all to embrace dialogue whenever there is a problem. Always try to be part of the solution and not part of the problem, she emphasized

As leaders you are expected to guide your colleagues to the right direction as majority of you are vulnerable to vicious groups like terrorism.” The Vice chancellor remarked further as she affirmed that to avoid the issue of missing marks, it's prudent that all students register units every semester for only system-based results that will be discussed by the university senate.


The newly elected team:
Mr. Nicolus Nzyuko Mutinda Chairman
Miss. Ndung’u Eunice Wambui Vice Chairperson
Mr. Masieyi Salasia Hailstrom Secretary General
Mr. Onsare Samomo Lameck Secretary Academics
Miss Kurui Mercy Jelaboti Treasurer
Mr. Muli James Kasyoki Secretary Accommodation
Mr. Zadock Kipng’eno Secretary Sports & Entertainment
Miss Mildred Awino Auma Secretary Special Needs
Mr Calvin Oluoch Otieno Governor- Kwale Campus
Miss. Pretty Rose Deputy Governor – Kwale Campus
Mr. Lloyd Odhiambo Secretary Sports & Entertainment – Kwale Campus
Mr. Twalib Mohamed Twalib Governor- Lamu Campus
Miss. Nuzla Masoud Deputy Governor – Lamu Campus
Mr. Said Hemed Secretary Sports & Entertainment – Lamu Campus